Welcome to The Few Good Men

Thanks for visiting our club and having a look around, there is a lot to see. Why not consider becoming a member?

Hello everyone, I'm eager to play!

D

Def

Hello there. Thanks to the administrator for approving my account!

I don't mean to presume, but I'd say I'm fairly younger than the average wargamer. Currently, I'm a 20-year-old Filipino college student majoring in Information Technology. I've always had an interest in video games, particularly ones with military themes. The first "serious" video game I've played was Starcraft, which I still hold closely with nostalgic affection. I got into FPS games soon after that, and started playing casual games like Call of Duty. Eventually, tactical shooters like SWAT 4, Vietcong and Hidden & Dangerous II would catch my attention.

The first ever "simulation" I've played was ARMA 1 when it was still called Operation Flashpoint. I wonder if any of you guys have played it. I was still a child back then, and I was just amazed at the grand scale of the game, especially since my gaming experience up to that point was constricted to small, highly cluttered maps. It was the first video game I played where I could hop into an M1 Abrams and lob HEAT shells at other players from 2km away. I also remember getting so good at aiming with man-portable rockets that I could reliably hit armored targets at ranges where the rocket's fuel would have long been spent on impact. Later, I would learn that it was not how you're supposed to use the LAW or the RPG-18.

After that, I tried getting into flight sims with IL-2 Sturmovik 1946, and fooled around on Fighter Ace (RIP) with several trial accounts. I didn't have a stick, and my parents weren't about to shell out the cash for something so niche, so I couldn't (and still haven't) pursue that interest.