Welcome to The Few Good Men

Thanks for visiting our club and having a look around, there is a lot to see. Why not consider becoming a member?

History Study it well

Status
Not open for further replies.
Not sure what atheism has to do with this?
It is the next step up from deism influenced by Napoleon Bonaparte. Judaism is way older than Christianity religions were political systems of the past. Understand why theocracies make a come-back. They restore the old ways.

This is THE ONE history point I have been arguing for almost 40 years, since I moved to the South for university, and encountered a "new" history, different from what I thought was the established history we all learned. I am strongly opposed to perpetuating what I am convinced is a myth, The Lost Cause, so forgive me if I keep getting up on a soapbox to rant again.

Why do any of us assume that we were not indoctrinated, but that only others were/are victims?

I feel I was duped. There was important American history that I was never taught, nor anyone in my family, nor my friends. Things like I already mentioned: Juneteenth was not taught, while the Tulsa Race Massacre was deliberately hidden.

When I studied, travelled, and worked abroad later in life, I learned elements of U.S. history not taught in our schools during the 1970s-80s, when American exceptionalism was de rigueur. There is being proud of one's country, but then there is not being critical about things to the point of being fake.

This element of the Lost Cause Myth is not myth for some, but history. So, again, either I was indoctrinated (to believe it is myth), or the losers of the American Civil War ran the most successful propaganda campaign arguably in all history, but clearly American history. They, not the winners, wrote the history generations of Southerners were taught. Their efforts continue to have powerful cultural and political effects for this entire nation even to this day.